SO it looks like I have part of my trip planned out... at least the first few days. I will be flying into Dar Es Salaam on May 25th. I land at 8 PM. I will be picked up by Taima's friend, Daudi, at the airport. He will drop me at the Jambo Inn, and I will hopefully get a good nights sleep. The next morning I wake up really early and take a ferry from Dar to Zanzibar (2 hour ride). I will land in Stone Town around 9 AM and explore a bit. Thinking about visiting the Hamamni Persian Baths  & Christ's Church. Both are relatively inexpensive tours, and offer a wealth of info regarding Zanzibar history. From there, I will take a daladala (local transport) to Kendwa, which lies in the North. I will check in to my hotel (Kendwa Rocks) and spend 3 days  soaking up the sun in Kendwa. On the 29th, I leave Kendwa in the morning on a daladala for Stone Town. I hope to be able to visit the hundred year old tortoises at Prison Island, a short 30 minute boat ride from Stone Town. My ferry leaves at 3:30 PM to head back to Dar Es Salaam. I will then stay again at the Jambo Inn. The next morning I wake up early to catch a bus to Arusha- a 9 hour drive. It will then be the 30th of May. My internship starts that Friday, on June 1st. Zanzibar will be a nice vacation before my actual work starts. I look forward to all that Tanzania has to offer... I'll keep yall posted.



Leave a Reply.